Powell Point: Redux

Powell Point, UT aerial view 1a-small

Between taking a recent trip to Minnesota and trying to start up a new “business” selling jewelry, I haven’t had a lot of time for photos lately. But I have a fresh supply of images from Minnesota, so I will probably begin sharing a little more here soon.

I thought I’d start with a photo that was actually taken on the flight home, a roundabout journey that took me to Las Vegas and over some recently-explored areas of Utah. If you’ve been following along, you might remember that I posted a series of photographs showing Powell Point, UT, from various perspectives. Well, here is yet another perspective to add to the collection: one from the air! (Specifically, it’s the rugged rocky face visible on the lower left-hand quadrant of the image.) Quite by coincidence, we flew right over it. It wasn’t until I got home and examined the photos that I realized this one was the same formation featured in the earlier post.

I love how life seems to come back around again like this. I also got to see Bryce Canyon and Zion National Parks from the air, and will post some of those images later. This was one of the funnest legs of a plane trip I’ve ever had; I spent the entire trip between Denver and Las Vegas locating familiar landmarks. (As you may know, I have also lived in Colorado and explored it extensively, so I also recognized a lot of old stomping grounds near Denver!)

I can’t emphasize enough how spectacular this area of the US landscape is. It’s amazing by land, and amazing by plane. I hope everyone gets the chance to explore it one or both ways.

Have you ever had such an experience before—exploring a place or a subject and having life bring you back to it again later without making any conscious effort to do so? If so, how did you react to such a coincidence?

Edited in Lightroom and Photoshop Elements.

Leave a Reply

