Mixed Gemstone Jewelry Set 2

Full set, including necklace, bracelet, and earrings

Full set, including necklace, bracelet, and earrings

Detail of pendant and gemstones

Detail of pendant and gemstones

Asking me to pick my favorite gemstone is like asking someone to pick a favorite child. It’s a question that should be off-limits! There are so many fine stones to choose from, that it’s a travesty to be limited to one or two.

That being said, if I had to classify gemstones by those I most admire, malachite and lapis lazuli would be added to the top echelon. At a gem show last month, I was able to find both, including lapis that had malachite inclusions. Well, needless to say, I thought the two would make a perfect combination. I created an entire set using the stones, and made a pendant from a polished fossil (forgive me that I don’t remember the name of the specimen). I used hematite as accent beads, along with a little shining silver.

This has become one of my personal favorite sets. I feel the pieces have a simple elegance—and I need all of that I can get!

Comments welcome and appreciated!

One thought on “Mixed Gemstone Jewelry Set 2

Leave a Reply

