Mixed Gemstone Jewelry Set 1

Gemstone Jewelry Set, necklace and earrings

Gemstone Jewelry Set, necklace and earrings

Detail of pendant and earrings

Detail of pendant and earrings

I’ve been jumping back into jewelry making after a bit of a slow down over the winter. I’ve been scouring bead shows and the internet for new and exciting beads, and I’ve been working on some new techniques.

This is one of my recent projects, in the line of what’s become my favorite style: mixed gemstones. The primary stones are autumn jasper (beige colored with orange flecks) and chrysocolla (green colored with darker inclusions). The pendant and earrings also feature a little wirework to give it an original style. The dark round accent beads are blue tiger eye, a luscious dark stone that displays its chatoyancy in the brightest lights. A few crystals are added to give the set a little more sparkle.

The necklace is heavy—these are very substantial stones, and you know you’re wearing some of nature’s finest stone creation! As part of trial and effort, I found that the earrings are a little too long to go with the necklace itself. I’ve since purchased some smaller autumn jasper beads and may switch out the larger ones to produce a better “fit”.

I’d love to know what you think! Comments and suggestions are always welcome.

I will be displaying more of my jewelry creations along with my “normal” nature-oriented photography. I hope you enjoy the mixture!

Leave a Reply

