Comet Pan-STARRS

Comet PanSTARRS and Moon 130312-2a-small

Here is a quick edit from tonight’s venture out to capture Comet Pan-STARRS. I had tried in vain to photograph it the past two nights, and tonight I finally succeeded.

It’s smaller than I would have expected, and I couldn’t find it with the naked eye—I had to depend on a couple of longer-exposure photographs to help aid me in locating it. Hopefully it will be easier to spot as it stays up later after sunset in the coming days, though it may get lost in the waxing moon’s glare.

This is just a warm-up to Comet ISON later this year! I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

