Great Blue on Little Blue

We may have a lot of watering holes around here, but though we call them “lakes”—they are really hardly more than ponds. So when a giant great blue herons comes to visit, he will necessarily dwarf these tiny blue islands of liquid. But that doesn’t stop them from swooping down and coming in for a visit to fish in the shallow waters.

The herons are much less wary of people than the sandhill cranes I featured in another recent post. They let me get close enough that I can photograph them even without very sophisticated equipment. No need to get overly creative to capture their essence! This great blue, which is apparently still a juvenile, didn’t fly away until after I had already passed. I was within a few yard when I took this. He was obviously watching me, but he was reluctant to abdicate his fishing spot to some mere human.

One thought on “Great Blue on Little Blue

Leave a Reply

