Don’t Worry, “Bee” Happy!

This is what happens when you take a lot of photos of flowers and insects: Eventually you get an image where it looks as if the bug is actually posing for you!

Obviously, this little bee couldn’t have cared less whether I wanted to snap her photo. She was preoccupied enough with collecting pollen that she let me take quite a few before buzzing off the to next flower, and I just happened to close the shutter at the instant she made her decision to move on.

If you look closely, you can get a sense of how quickly her wings are moving. Though the shutter speed was relatively fast–at 1/320 second–it was still long enough to capture the motion of the wings, almost giving the impression that she has three or four wings instead of two.

It may be hard to believe, but this photo was excruciatingly difficult to edit. I had many failed attempts at rendering before I decided on this one. And I’m still not overly happy. At this point, I’m honestly a little tired of looking at it! Hopefully you all find it more agreeable. And maybe it will grow on me when I’m not looking at it for hours on end!

Do you ever have that happen to you? You absolutely love a photo when you first see it, but after hours of editing, you get so tired of it you’re not sure you ever want to see it again?

Leave a Reply

